Skip to content

In the beginning, there was the list

September 29, 2011

And the list was good

So I have this (ambitious? crazy? self indulgent?) plan to make all of Shea’s clothes for this fall/winter. Armed with a pile of fabric, a library of patterns, and my list, there is nothing that can stop me.

Naturally, one begins at the top. My goal is to make seven winter-worthy tops, and I was able to knock out four of them in a week.

Alex calls this his Star Trek top. Get it?

I absolutely adore this olive green jersey from Near Sea Naturals. The color is so sophisticated and un-baby; seeing his elfish little face behind it just makes me smile. Some day I’m going to make myself an entire wardrobe in it.

I have toys. But I prefer tissues.

I love that little star applique with my whole heart.

All four of these are from an Ottobre Design pattern. I made six of them (with short sleeves) over the summer and I think I could make the pattern in my sleep now. Lately I’ve been cutting the neck binding slightly wider than the 4 cm called for in the pattern–I prefer about 2.75 inches (and the Imperial system), and instead of using my double needle to stitch the hems and topstitching around the binding, I’m using a zigzag stitch. I find I’m very torn about this because the zigzag stitch screams “hello I am home sewn;” but the double needle stitch never looks quite straight to me.

Which brings me here:

Onward!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 11:23 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. September 30, 2011 6:00 pm

    *giggling about the above comment from WordPress*

    Found your blog through the Ravelry sewing forum. I like it–very sophisticated. This post was too cute not to post a comment on. Your baby is adorable, and the shirts look great. I don’t think the zigzag stitching makes it look too “home-made”–I am very impressed by the shirts!

    I will be following and can’t wait to see more of his fall/winter wardrobe!

    • October 1, 2011 1:57 am

      Yeah, I guess things are still a little unfinished around here. 🙂

      Thanks so much for the compliments! We finally had some cool weather here, so I’m starting to think Fall may actually come. More shirts are in the works!

Leave a Reply

